Blog

Five Details To Pay Attention To When Using An iPhone For The First Time

Although the iPhone is invincible in the mobile phone market, there are still many users who have not used the iPhone so far. If the iPhone is your first smartphone, or if you’ve just transferred from Android, it’s inevitable that you’ll feel strange the first time you use it, and there’s a lot to get used to. In view of this, please put away the following five use small details to avoid making mistakes.

First, ignore the mute switch

The most important feature that many new users don’t notice is the mute switch on their iPhone. As Apple points out in its support documentation, the Mute switch lets you quickly mute notification sounds and ringtones. The switch is located above the volume button in the upper left corner of the iPhone. However, it should be noted that even if the switch is turned on, the alarm will still emit sound.

If the switch has a visible orange band — that is, if the switch is pushed down — then your iPhone will mute. If it is in the up position (the orange bar is not visible), then the iPhone will not mute, and when there is a call, a notification sound will play and ring. If you don’t turn the mute switch down, simply turning down the volume of your iPhone won’t mute notification alerts.

Of course, you can change the loudness of the default notification sound by going to the Settings > Sound & Touch. You can adjust the settings for the entire system by changing the Ringtone and Alarm Volume. If you want to be able to change the ringtone and alarm volume continuously, you can enable the “Change with button” option. Once this feature is enabled, you can change the ringtone and alarm volume through the volume buttons of your iPhone without audio playback.

Second, maximize iCloud storage space

iCloud is essentially a big support for the iPhone, and it’s where all your photos, messages, app data, and more are stored. In addition, when you are connected to Wi-Fi, iCloud makes a backup of your iPhone every night. Important information such as your health, wallet, and password data is securely encrypted.

iCloud can also be used as a simple storage service similar to Google Drive (a cloud storage service launched by Google) or Dropbox. As long as you have enough storage space, you can store almost anything you want in iCloud. To upload a file, you need to open the Files app and tap on “iCloud” under the Browse tab.

While you may not need to use it directly, you may find that when you use your iPhone, your iCloud storage runs out very quickly. This is especially important if you’re the kind of person who likes to take a lot of photos, because pictures quickly take up storage space, and Apple only gives you 5GB for free. More storage starts at $6 per month from 50GB to $68 per month to 2TB. You may need to try to prevent your iCloud storage from filling up, otherwise, you won’t be able to store extra photos and other data that would normally sync to the cloud.

Third, the “Find” is not set in advance

New iPhone users, especially new Apple users, may completely neglect to use the Find feature. Especially for iOS 15 or later, find this feature capable of tracking your iPhone 11 or newer model within a few hours after the battery runs out. Similarly, your iPhone can be found even when it’s not connected to a wireless LAN or cellular network.

If for some reason you haven’t enabled Find My iPhone yet, head to the Settings > [Your Name]” > Find My iPhone > and turn on Find My iPhone. You also need to make sure that Enable Offline Lookup is also turned on. “Send Last Location” is an optional feature that lets Apple automatically position information for this iPhone when the iPhone’s battery is low.

As Apple says, Lookup also enables what the company calls Activation Lock. This feature prevents thieves from factory resetting and resetting your iPhone without Apple ID and passcode. Similarly, thieves won’t be able to turn off Find Out without an Apple ID and passcode, and even if they try to reset your iPhone, they won’t be able to track it.

Fourth, buy the wrong accessories

If you buy an iPhone 12 or later (not including the iPhone SE model), your phone will support MagSafe, a magnetic connection technology. MagSafe lets you connect accessories like chargers, wallets, and batteries to your iPhone. The feature works by using a circular magnet ring built into the iPhone and MagSafe compatible accessories. But the first mistake you want to avoid is to buy a protective case that is not compatible with MagSafe.

MagSafe lets you attach a MagSafe wallet when you leave home, or a MagSafe battery pack when your iPhone runs out of battery. In both cases, if you’re already home or have enough battery, you can remove them to keep your iPhone lightweight and portable. Of course, you can check out many other third-party MagSafe accessories.

In addition to the MagSafe, there are also lightning accessories to keep an eye on. Apple has a so-called Made For iPhone (MFi) program, which certifies products that work with iPhones, Lightning-enabled iPads, and Lightning accessories such as MagSafe battery packs and AirPods. The MFi accessory ensures that it is compatible with your iPhone and that it does not set your phone’s battery on fire. Buying an uncertified charger, especially from an unknown brand, can cause serious damage to your iPhone.

Fifth, click the prompt without noticing

Apple takes privacy very seriously, and this is reflected in its software. When you download an app for the first time or open an app for the first time, you may be bombarded with warnings that pop up asking for permission to perform various actions. At this point you shouldn’t just say “yes” to all alerts just to get to the next step as quickly as possible. Similarly, you should not click “Do not allow” to send spam. The right thing to do is evaluate the app you just downloaded or opened and decide if it really needs access to your photo library or camera (which may or may not).

Usually, the app gives three options, which you should read carefully. The Always setting is very simple, and the app can access your location even if you don’t use it very often. The Allow on Use option allows the app to access your location while it is in use. The Allow once option allows the app to access your location only once.

If the app only needs your approximate location, the latter option is very good. Of course, just tap “Don’t Allow” to turn off location tracking for the app altogether. Another thing to be aware of when it comes to location is precise position switching. Open it and the app will be able to access your exact location, but off it and the app will only get the approximate location you are in.

DsGuruJi Homepage Click Here
DSGuruJi - PDF Books Notes